Salt + Light Media Home
Salt + Light Media Home

Out of the Darkness

Kris Dmytrenko

Sunday, May 6, 2012

Pornography is a societal problem, but first and foremost, it is a personal one that affects both those who buy it and those who produce it. Shelley Lubben is among the latter group. A former porn star and prostitute, Lubben's traumatic experiences in the sex industry led to post-traumatic stress disorder and substance abuse problems.
"When people watch pornography," Lubben says, "they are really watching mentally ill and physically diseased people have sex."
Lubben is among the fortunate. Through a series of events, she found God and was able to leave the lifestyle that was destroying her. She recounts her story in Out of the Darkness, a powerful, award-winning documentary produced by Anteroom Pictures. Out of the Darkness airs tonight on S+L at 8:30 pm ET / 5:30 pm PT and again at 12:30 am ET / 9:30 pm PT. Due to the subject matter, viewer discretion is advised.


Related Articles:

SUPPORT LABEL

Get the latest from Salt + Light Media
Stay Connected
Get the latest from Salt + Light Media
Stay Connected
FR | CH
Copyright © 2022 Salt and Light Catholic Media Foundation
Registered Charity # 88523 6000 RR0001