Salt + Light Media Home
Salt + Light Media Home

Good Friday liturgies LIVE from Rome

Sebastian Gomes

Thursday, April 5, 2012

The Colosseum – an enduring symbol of the Roman Empire, and a memorial to the Christian martyrs of old. During the frequent imperial persecutions of the first three centuries Christians were led onto these very grounds and burned or fed to wild beasts. One of the Church’s first bishops, St. Ignatius of Antioch, was martyred in the Colosseum sometime during the reign of Emperor Trajan (A.D. 98-117). While traveling to Rome as a prisoner he wrote a pastoral letter to the Christian community there, urging them to remain united. He also reflected on his impending death…
Now is the moment I am beginning to be a disciple. May nothing seen or unseen begrudge me making my way to Jesus Christ. Come fire, cross, battling with wild beasts, wrenching of bones, mangling of limbs, crushing of my whole body, cruel tortures of the devil – only let me get to Christ! Not the wide bounds of earth nor the kingdoms of this world will avail me anything. “I would rather die” (I Cor 9:15) and get to Jesus Christ, than reign over the ends of the earth.
- St. Ignatius
On Good Friday, the Pope leads the Way of the Cross in the Roman Colosseum. Salt + Light brings you LIVE coverage of this ceremony and the celebration of the Lord’s Passion.
Celebration of the Lord's Passion
St. Peter’s Basilica, Vatican
LIVE Friday, April 6 at 11:00 am ET / 8:00 am PT
Way of the Cross
Colosseum, Rome
LIVE Friday, April 6 at 3:15 pm ET / 12:15 pm PT
Repeat: 9:00 pm ET / 6:00 pm PT and 1:00 am ET / 10:00 pm PT
Photo: courtesy of CNS


Related Articles:

SUPPORT LABEL

Lorem Ipsum is simply dummy text of the printing and typesetting industry. Lorem Ipsum has been the industry's standard dummy text ever since the 1500sLorem Ipsum is simply dummy text of the printing and typesetting industry.

Get the latest from Salt + Light Media
Stay Connected
Get the latest from Salt + Light Media
Stay Connected
FR | CH
Copyright © 2021 Salt and Light Catholic Media Foundation
Registered Charity # 88523 6000 RR0001