Salt + Light Media Home
Salt + Light Media Home

Award-winning Documentary Reveals the Modern True Story of Heroic Polish Martyr

Salt + Light Media

Thursday, November 6, 2014

Messenger of Truth
On November 16, 2014 Salt + Light will air Messenger of  the Truth, a film based on the life of Blessed Father Jerzy Popieluszko, the courageous chaplain of the Solidarity movement in Poland in the early 1980’s.
Narrated by Catholic activist and actor Martin Sheen, Messenger of the Truth chronicles Father Jerzy’s opposition to Poland’s oppressive Communist leaders, who harassed, arrested, threatened, imprisoned and, eventually, murdered him for speaking the truth in a country full of propaganda, oppression and social injustice.
“A must-see documentary for all who believe in the rights of religious liberty, the dignity of the human person, and those who are lovers of freedom and defenders of the truth,” says His Eminence, Timothy Cardinal Dolan, Archbishop of New York.
At Fr. Jerzy’s funeral, an estimated one million people surrounded his church in Warsaw and promised to continue his struggle for freedom through non-violence. Blessed Pope John Paul II, a son of Poland and advocate for the end of communism in his country and around the world, admired Fr. Jerzy’s courageous stand for freedom and truth. In 1987, shortly before the fall of communism in Poland, Pope John Paul II prayed at his gravesite in a remarkable sign of his support for the young priest’s life and death. Fr. Jerzy was beatified on June 6, 2010, in Warsaw and is expected to be canonized in the near future.
Messenger of the Truth was awarded first place in the documentary category at the 28th International Catholic Film Festival in Warsaw,  Poland and was awarded the Christopher Award for the category of TV documentary on May 15th from The Christophers at their 65th annual award gala in New York City.
Messenger of the Truth will air on Sunday, November 16, 2014 at 9 pm EST/ 6 pm PST.
Additional dates and times:
November 17 - 1:30 pm EST / 11:30 pm PST
November 18 - 9:30 am EST / 6:30 am PST
November 20 - 9:00 pm EST / 6:00 pm PST
November 21 - 1:00 am EST / 11:00 pm PST
November 21 - 1:30 pm EST / 11:30 am PST


Related Articles:

SUPPORT LABEL

Lorem Ipsum is simply dummy text of the printing and typesetting industry. Lorem Ipsum has been the industry's standard dummy text ever since the 1500sLorem Ipsum is simply dummy text of the printing and typesetting industry.

Get the latest from Salt + Light Media
Stay Connected
Get the latest from Salt + Light Media
Stay Connected
FR | CH
Copyright © 2021 Salt and Light Catholic Media Foundation
Registered Charity # 88523 6000 RR0001