Salt + Light Media Home
Salt + Light Media Home

S+L celebrates Holy Thursday from Montreal and the Vatican

Kris Dmytrenko

Wednesday, March 27, 2013

Credit: CNS photo/Enrique Garcia Medina, Reuters
On Holy Thursday, the Church reenacts two of Jesus' most powerful examples of service: the washing of the feet of his disciples, and his Last Supper with the apostles.
It's also a day when, in many dioceses around the world -- including the diocese of Rome -- the sacramental oils of catechumens, of the infirm, and holy chrism are blessed for use throughout the coming year. The blessing takes place at the Chrism Mass, which Pope Francis will lead in St. Peter's Basilica. S+L will air this mass at 9:00 am ET/6:00 am PT, repeating at 1:00 pm ET/10:00 am PT.
The Mass of Lord's Supper, however, will be a simpler, private liturgy. Pope Francis, continuing a tradition from when he served as Archbishop of Buenos Aires, is celebrating this liturgy with young inmates at the Casal del Marmo detention centre. (In the above photo from 2008, then-Cardinal Jorge Mario Bergoglio washes and kisses the feet of a resident of a shelter for drug users.) To ensure the privacy of the inmates, the Vatican will not provide a live video signal for broadcasters.
Instead, S+L will bring you Mass of the Lord's Supper live from St. Joseph's Oratory in Montreal, Quebec. This bilingual liturgy will be celebrated by the rectory of the Oratory, Fr. Claude Grou, CSC. The mass airs at 7:30 pm ET/4:30 pm PT, repeating at 12:00 am ET/9:00 pm PT.
For broadcast times of all the events of Holy Week, visit S+L's Easter webpage.
-
Credit: CNS photo/Enrique Garcia Medina, Reuters


Related Articles:

SUPPORT LABEL

Lorem Ipsum is simply dummy text of the printing and typesetting industry. Lorem Ipsum has been the industry's standard dummy text ever since the 1500sLorem Ipsum is simply dummy text of the printing and typesetting industry.

Get the latest from Salt + Light Media
Stay Connected
Copyright © 2021 Salt and Light Catholic Media Foundation
Registered Charity # 88523 6000 RR0001
FR | CH