Salt + Light Media Home
Salt + Light Media Home

New Year's with Pope Benedict XVI

Matthew Harrison

Monday, December 28, 2009

As this year draws to a close, and 2010 begins, Salt + Light Television is pleased to bring to you two Papal events.
CHILDREN BRING UP GIFTS DURING MASS MARKING FEAST OF MARY, WORLD PEACE DAY. CNS photo/Giampiero Sposito, ReutersOn New Year's Eve, at St. Peter's in Rome, Pope Benedict XVI will celebrate Vespers in thanksgiving for the year gone by. You can watch this live, without English translation, Thursday, December 31st at 12pm ET/9am PT.
January 1st of each year marks new beginnings for many of us, but for the Church it is a day that we honour our Blessed Mother -- in fact, in Canada, like in many countries, it's a Holy Day of Obligation. It is also a day that the Church recognizes as the World Day for Peace. Having given thanksgiving for 2009 at First Vespers the night before, Pope Benedict will open the new year with Holy Mass on the Solemnity of Mary, the Mother of God. You can watch that on Salt + Light Television at Friday January 1st , at 10am ET/7am PT, with English translation.
-
Photo: Children bring up gifts during Mass marking feast of Mary, Mother of God, January 1st 2008. CNS photo/Giampiero Sposito, Reuters.


Related Articles:

SUPPORT LABEL

Lorem Ipsum is simply dummy text of the printing and typesetting industry. Lorem Ipsum has been the industry's standard dummy text ever since the 1500sLorem Ipsum is simply dummy text of the printing and typesetting industry.

Get the latest from Salt + Light Media
Stay Connected
Get the latest from Salt + Light Media
Stay Connected
FR | CH
Copyright © 2021 Salt and Light Catholic Media Foundation
Registered Charity # 88523 6000 RR0001