Salt + Light Media Home
Salt + Light Media Home

Dignitaries fill cathedral to congratulate new Cardinal

Kris Dmytrenko

Wednesday, February 29, 2012

As Mass began in Toronto’s Cathedral this morning, more than a few familiar faces lined the pews. The mayors of Toronto and its neighbouring municipalities were in attendance, seated alongside an MPP from the Ontario government, the provincial leader of the opposition, and the Lieutenant Governor. They came to welcome back one of their own.
It was just over one week ago that the Archbishop of Toronto was made a cardinal at a Vatican ceremony. Now back in Toronto, Cardinal Thomas Collins celebrated a Mass of Thanksgiving in St. Michael’s Cathedral. During his homily, he spoke about what the Old Testament prophet Jonah can teach us about the new evangelization.
S+L will re-air the Pontifical Mass tonight at 8pm ET / 5pm PT, repeating once more at midnight ET / 9pm PT. The broadcast begins with our half-hour Perspectives special recapping the consistory, which is streaming online above. If you would like to congratulate the Cardinal in person, the public is invited to attend a series of local celebrations being held throughout the archdiocese.


Related Articles:

SUPPORT LABEL

Lorem Ipsum is simply dummy text of the printing and typesetting industry. Lorem Ipsum has been the industry's standard dummy text ever since the 1500sLorem Ipsum is simply dummy text of the printing and typesetting industry.

Get the latest from Salt + Light Media
Stay Connected
Get the latest from Salt + Light Media
Stay Connected
FR | CH
Copyright © 2021 Salt and Light Catholic Media Foundation
Registered Charity # 88523 6000 RR0001